• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • September 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Muffuletta

What is it?

Besides being fun to say. It’s a sandwich that originated in Louisianna.

It’s an Italian loaf of bread split and then loaded with olive salad (Muffuletta Spread), capicola, salami, provolone and swiss. If you ask The Man it’s amazing. If you ask me it’s a sandwich.

I thought I would treat him one night and make them so I bought jarred Muffuletta spread. I never got to the sandwich but I have made my way through half the jar of olive salad. This stuff is amazing. It’s a new staple and absolute must have in my kitchen.

You have to like olives. It’s a combination of green & kalamatta olives, celery, garlic, carrots, capers and pepperoncinis. All chopped up into perfect dices and perfect proportions. It has just a very slight touch of spicy to it. I wouldn’t make it myself. I neither have the knife skills or the patience. You can usually find it in the jarred olive & pepper aisle at the grocery store.

Here are just a few of the things I’ve tried with the spread:

  • Rack of Lamb: Sear the rounded side, spread thin layer of Dijon mustard, layer olive spread, roll in seasoned bread crumbs, bake until desired temp is reached
  • Grilled Chicken Sandwich: grill chicken breast, butter and grill one side of two slices of bread (like a grilled cheese), melt provolone (or american) cheese on one and layer the other with olive spread. Even better if you have a Panini grill and can just put the sandwich together before grilling.
  • Cheese Burger: Burger, cheddar cheese, toasted buns
  • Grilled Cheese: I’m sure you can figure it out
  • Crostinis: cut a baguette on the bias, paint on some EVOO & toast under the broiler both sides until lightly browned. Top with olive spread and a bit of feta and melt slightly under the broiler
  • By The Spoon

I’m joking on the last one. Maybe.

I love olives. Everything about them. The possibilities are really endless. Since I have none of the ingredients for any of the above items, I’m off to find something else to try.

Then again I’m also 28 and harboring a rekindled love of Kool-Aid and Fruit By The Foot so what do I know!

The 11week update is posted over on thegrowinggibsons.blogspot.com

One Response

  1. Don’t forget the ring pops!!!!!

Leave a Reply

