• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Pear Cake with Pine Nuts

I suck!

Seriously, blowtastic.

My inability to blog as of late has not been linked to my lack of excitement in my life. Rather, I don’t know what to share with you all. Mid July the hubs and I decided we were going to turn to Nutrisystem so cooking hasn’t been happening.

Update on that? The Man is down near 25lbs, looking hot too! I, on the other hand, took one look at the small lunchable like pizza laughed and said, “bleh”.  I may give it a whirl again but for the time being I am not.

With the Man on Nutrisystem and I on people food it’s added a bit of enjoyment to my evening meals. For example, yesterday he had a large salad and a Nutri Pizza. I had a (by ‘a’ I mean 2) Stoufers French Bread Pizzas with Ranch dippy. Don’t read too much into it, it was a cheat dinner, or so that’s they way I’m playing it. Don’t judge.

I smoked on Saturday July 31! ::gasp:: Now you may judge. I was having a really really bad week and one day I might just share that with you but for now it’s my secret. ::sticks thumbs on temples and sings nanny nanny boo boo:: I didn’t have a whole cigarette, instead I randomly searched out people in my party who would share drags with me. In my mind this made it all better. So I ruined my most phenomenal non-smoking streak ever. Back on the wagon I guess! I have not touched since that day though so I’m good, right?

Now the cake! It’s like a coffee cake and is so freaking fab! Mi Madre watched our dogs on July 4th so I made her this cake. Even trade right? I stick you with my annoying furbabies and you get a cake? I thought so!

It’s from Cooking Light circa 2001 and each serving has 252 Calories

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Chilled Butter, cut into small pieces
  • 2 Tbls Pine Nuts
  • 1/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/3 Cup Fat-Free Sour Cream
  • 1/4 Cup 1% Low-Fat Milk
  • 1 Tsp Lemon Rind
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Lg. Egg
  • Cooking Spray
  • 2 Cup Thin Sliced Pear

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Combine flour, sugar & salt in large bowl and whisk well
  • Cut in butter with pastry blender or 2 knives (see below) until it resembles a coarse meal.
  • Remove 1/3 cup flour mixture & place in small bowl, stir in cinnamon & pine nuts and set aside
  • Combine the next 6 ingredients (sour cream through egg) with the remaining flour, beat on medium speed until well blended
  • Coat 9-in round pan with cooking spray and pour in batter
  • Layer the top with the sliced pear
  • Sprinkle the flour, cinnamon & pine nut mixture on top
  • Bake for 45 min

Pastry blender? WTF no I don’t have one nor do I know what they are talking about. I tried two knives and that was a waste of time and my butter started warming and even I knew that wasn’t ok. So I got out the potato masher. Why I have one of these I have no idea, but I did and it saved my pear cake.

It was fabulous!

Leave a Reply

