• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Taco Noodle Casserole

I suppose you thought I would post about my weight with it being Wednesday and all. I have chosen to ignore that fact. mmmk

Instead I’m sharing last nights dinner. It’s been awhile for a recipe and I have tons more but have yet to find the energy.

If I had to choose a seasoning to eat for the rest of my life it would be taco seasoning. I heart it. Immensely so. So much so that I don’t buy the packets any more; I have moved straight to bulk Ortega. It’s at Sams. It’s absurdly cheaper & I always have it. Win Win!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Lb Lean Ground Beef (or turkey)
  • 1/2 Onion Chopped
  • 4 Cloves Garlic Minced
  • 1 Cup Frozen Corn
  • 1 Cup Black Beans
  • 1 Cup Mushrooms Sliced
  • 2 Cup Salsa
  • 1 Cup Sour Cream
  • 1 Cup Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 Lb Penne Pasta
  • 1 Packet Taco Seasoning (I would up to 2 packets for extra flavor. 1/2 cup if using bulk seasoning)

DIRECTIONS:

  • Pre-Heat oven to 350
  • Brown meat with mushrooms, onion, beans & garlic in a large non stick skillet.
  • Bring a large pot of salted water to a heavy boil & cook pasta for 7-8 minutes. You want it to stay a bit firm.
  • Drain the meat & mix in taco seasoning.
  • Once the seasoning is thoroughly mixed add the salsa, sour cream & corn.
  • Drain pasta and mix with meat
  • Combine everything in a 9×13 baking dish top with Cheddar & bake for 30 minutes.

I used canned “fancy” mushrooms. They have a bit of a different flavor than fresh mushrooms. I don’t mind them. I do mind slicing mushrooms. It’s one of my most hated tasks, they are small and wobbly and annoying. The cans are also 8 oz, 1 cup no guessing no measuring.

The Man preferred the Taco Pie. I prefer the pasta casserole. I cook I win!

Ok I cave

Weight: 228.4
Lost: 3
Up: 1.1 (lamesauce)
To Go: 53
BMI: 31.9
Days Without Cigarettes: 17
Money Saved: $106.25

3 Responses

  1. I love tacos..
    Congrats.. Days with out Cigarettes.. not counting but must be over 900…
    Money saved… I dropped 3 days work per fortnight.,..
    More time to play in the workshop…

  2. Congrat on the good work! The recipe sounds yummy. I think I will try this soon. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Sounds delicious and congratulations on the smoking way to save:):)

Leave a Reply

