• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Amish Friendship Bread

I received a starter bag of this goo on Sunday May 30th. My thoughts were, “ohhh friends”.

So the directions say to squish this bag of batter for 5 days & let any air out. On day 6 you add flour, sugar and milk and squish. Days 7-9 squish and release air. On day 10 you add more flour, sugar & milk. You then add one cup to each of 4 freezer bags to give to your “friends”. With the remaining batter you add a boat load of goodness + instant pudding package. Then bake it for an hour (in non-metal, it never ever touches metal).

On day 10 of mushing this bag my thoughts were, “ohh maybe she doesn’t actually like me. This is intense”

On day 11, I knew I could not put it off. This stuff has milk in it and it had already been out for 10 days. So at 8:30PM I was scouring the Walgreens (they know I’m nuts) looking for instant pudding and frantically texting this “friend” because I only had metal loaf pans and the directions clearly state NO METAL. “She hates me, it was all a ploy”

At 11:10, forty minutes past my bedtime, I pulled this square pan of love out of my oven. After 10 (11) days of intense mushing I couldn’t wait for it to cool and took a nibble from the top. It’s good. It’s really really good.

It’s sweet and decadent and cinnaminny.

I’ve heard many say that they received a starter bag and then never done anything with it. I highly recommend doing it. I currently have 4 starter bags in my freezer waiting to be claimed. If you want one let me know. It was well worth all the trouble.

Much, much better than a muffin for a breakfast treat. In all my internet scouring I also learned that one slice has an average of 215 calories, which isn’t all that bad

I made mine with no extras and am super happy with it. There are a ton of different things you can try though. Add blueberries, bananas, apples, chocolate chips, zucchini, cranberry, the options are endless!

Whats really nice is you can freeze the starter bags so you aren’t making the bread every 10 days. Day 1 is the day you take it out of the freezer. You know, if I ever know that I want it 10 days prior to actually wanting it!

Leave a Reply

