• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Olive & Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb

Paul likes lamb.

I am iffy about lamb. I think it smells funny and therefore tastes funny.

Why do I continue to make it? Because I’m determined to perfect my recipe to cover the gamey scent of lamb but still keeps the tender fabulousness of a cute little lamb chop.

Ohh and they are cute tiny little things.

Either way I think I’ve done it! 3rd times a charm!

Lamb makes me think of Greek cooking, Greece makes me think of olives (and piss poor politics) and I love olives. DUH! Why didn’t I think of this before!?

Paul was on the fence so I decided to one rack with just a garlic herb crust and one with an olive herb crust. Olive won out, hands down!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Rack of Lamb
  • 1/2 Cup Bread Crumbs
  • 4 Cloves Garlic Pressed
  • 1 Tsp Dried Sage
  • 1 Tsp Dried Rosemary
  • 2 Tbls Dijon Mustard
  • 2-3 Tbls Muffaletta Spread
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 Tbls Olive Oil

DIRECTIONS

  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees
  • Salt & Pepper the rounded side of each rack
  • Heat Olive oil on high in a heavy skillet
  • Place each rack in the pan, rounded side down, sear for 2 minutes
  • Remove to a baking sheet, rounded side up
  • On a plate mix bread crumbs, herbs & crushed garlic
  • Spread 1 Tbls Dijon on each rack
  • Spread 1-1 1/2 Tbls Muffaletta on top of the mustard
  • Press the bread crumb mixture on top of the Muffaletta
  • Give each a solid spray with PAM.
  • Bake for 20 minutes for rare, 25 for medium

Muffaletta: is actually a hoagie style sandwich that originated in New Orleans. In place of mayo they use an olive salad. Muffaletta spread is available already made in jar form. Yes, please! It has olives, peppers, garlic, pimento already chopped up into the perfect consistency. Why would you mess with this and try to make your own? You don’t!

Why would you spray the top with PAM? Because it will help give the crust a nice golden brown color and the evenly sprayed oil helps the crust to stick together.

Possibly the best lamb chops ever.

2 Responses

  1. The recipe looks good. I am copy this for tonight dinner. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Fluffy lil’ snowy white lambies : (

Leave a Reply

