• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Mothers Day Brunch

The Little, The Middle and I decided to cook The Mom brunch on Mothers day! 

Our lack of patience with someone is shining through!

Ohh looksie loo! There we are! We aren’t impressed with someone. I don’t know who but I can guarantee whoever it is regrets what they did to deserve the three of us turning on them. 

Here’s my pretty momma too! 

My beautiful Momma

I’m using wedding photos because pro hair, makeup & photos are the most flattering. There is no reason to think I look any different from I did on my wedding day and that’s the way it shall be. 

So anyway the girls, their lovies and mom came over to our house on Sunday for brunch. 

THE MENU
Mimosa’s, Juice & Coffee
Creme Brulee French Toast with Drunken Strawberries
Home Fries
Sausage
Bacon
Apple Dumplin’s & Ice Cream 

I have faith that you all can handle sausage and bacon without instruction. I apparently cannot. I most certainly did NOT set the bacon plastic aflame then freak out and panic. No siree I most certainly did not do this. Nor did I discover that when grease is burning water doesn’t work that quickly. Whatev! 

The Creme Brulee French toast was to die for! There was no need for syrup, just a bit of powdered sugar & the strawberries did just fine. 

From Gourmetfood @ About.com

INGREDIENTS 

  • 1 Loaf Challah or Brioche bread, sliced 1 1/2 inch thick (I used regular italian bread)
  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar, packed
  • 2 Tbls Corn Syrup
  • 3/4 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 5 Eggs
  • 3/4 Cup Milk
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • 2 Tsp Grand Marnier (Which is apparently not pronounced MAR-IN-ER, who knew?)
  • Powdered Sugar
  • 1 Quart strawberries, hulled and halved
  • 1/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Grand Mariner

DIRECTIONS 

  • Butter a 9×13 baking pan
  • Melt butter, brown sugar & corn syrup
  • Pour in the bottom of your baking dish
  • Layer bread slices evenly one top. Give ’em a squeeze to make them fit. (I got 9 slices in my pan)
  • Whisk the cream, milk, eggs, vanilla, 2 tsp Grand Mariner, vanilla & salt until well mixed
  • Pour over the bread
  • Cover and refrigerate at least 8 hrs.
  • Mix the strawberries, sugar & 1/4 cup Grand Mariner cover and marinated overnight.
  • Let bread come to room temp for at least 20 mins before baking
  • Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes until golden and puffed

TO DIE FOR! 

The brown sugar butter mixture got a bit sticky once the bread cooled so next time I will let the sugar melt longer before pouring in the pan. 

I love recipes like this because I can quickly through it all together in 30 minutes the night before and then just pop it in the oven that morning.

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE these pictures!

    I have to admit that I am a tad bit jealous that I didn’t receive an invite to this lovely brunch especially since I was in the emergency room with the eldest while you all were stuffing your faces with Grand Mariner soaked strawberries- I have decided that you owe me for this oversight. I will accept Creme Brulee French Toast and Cinnamon Rolls…..sooner than later please!

    Totally joking of course…however I will accept the peace offering should you be willing.

  2. Fantastic brunch everything was to die for. I could go for you cooking for me anytime your heart desires. The left overs were even delicsh the next day. Love ya Mom

Leave a Reply

