• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Wholesome Morning Granola

Breakfast in my house is a struggle. I don’t want to eat at work. I don’t get up in time to make anything worthwhile, like a sausage egg and cheese mcmuffin or pancakes or chocolate chip dutch babies.

What the heck is a dutch baby? It’s a German pancake similar to Yorkshire Pudding, except not nasty. Seriously it’s made with flour, eggs, milk and if you’re a good person chocolate chips then baked in the oven. Served with butter, powdered sugar or syrup. The dutch part comes from the Pennsylvania Dutch who mispronounced “deutsche”. And now you happily know way to much about my Saturday breakfast plans!

Anyway, breakfast is important and we have needed to come up with something that we can grab and go or eat while getting ready. Last week was Blueberry Muffins and this week is granola. Granola is good in yogurt or milk or just dry by the handful.

It was super easy to make and if kept in an air tight container stays fresh for a long time.

Only 252 calories/half cup serving and 5 WW points.

Someone tell me how Weight Watchers works!! I calculate the points because I have a lovely who is doing Weight Watchers but I don’t know what exactly I’m saying. Is 5 points good? Is it way to much? Tell me someone!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Cups Regular Oats (Quaker Old Fashioned)
  • 2 Cups Puffed Rice Cereal
  • 1/2 Cup Flaked Sweetened Coconut
  • 1/2 Cup Oat Bran (I used All Bran Cereal)
  • 1/4 Cup Sliced Almonds (I used Walnuts)
  • 3 Tbls Turbinado Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Pineapple Juice
  • 1/2 Cup Apple Juice
  • 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/4 Dried Blueberries

DIRECTIONS:

  • Pre-heat oven to 325
  • Combine everything from the Oats to the Sugar
  • In a small saucepan combine the pineapple and apple juices and bring to a boil
  • Allow to boil for about 10 minutes until the juice is reduced to 2/3 cup
  • Remove from heat and stir in honey
  • Pour over oat mixture and toss to coat evenly
  • Spread over a greased cookie sheet and bake for 40 minutes
  • Allow to cool slightly and toss with blueberries
  • Cool completely before storing.

You can really do all kinds of nuts or dried fruits.

What is Turbinado sugar? It’s made by crushing fresh sugar cane and crystallizing the juices. The crystals are spun in a turbine give it the name. It’s also mass marketed as Sugar in The Raw, which you can find in your normal baking aisle. If you don’t do your research before you go you can spend $4.00 to buy the organic sugar that actually says Turbinado on it. Awesomesauce!

5 Responses

  1. 5 points is an excellent amount for a meal/snack. I don’t know how much you know about the point system (since they’ve made some changes to the system over the past 2-3 years), but basically, you’re given an allotment of points for the day. I was given 26 points per day. On top of that, one also has 35 “flex points” (please correct me if I’m wrong!) to use throughout the week. If I remember correctly, I would use an extra 5 points per day. So if one would choose to have yogurt for breakfast (typically 3 points) and topped it with granola, the total would be 8 points, which is perfect for a light meal 🙂

  2. For me personally 5 points at the beginning of my day would be the beginning of the end. This only sucks if you are only given 22 points for the day….But well worth it if it fills you up. For me eating 5 points plus the two or so points for coffee w. cream and sugar….whoah….why bother even trying the rest of the day?…go eat a big mac for lunch and taco bell for dinner. LOL.

    But like Regina said I haven’t tried weightwatchers in a few years….things change.

    • What in the world would you eat then? This WW things confuzzles me

      • That’s why I haven’t done it in a while. Being under 150 puts you in such a low allowance it’s so hard….small apples 1, english muffins, lots of salad and yogurt, cheese, crackers, grapes….more like a regular low fat/no fat diet….

      • Well my I-haven’t-seen-150-since-8th-grade ass says boo hoo. J/K, love, j/k Sounds pretty restrictive. I guess it wouldn’t be too bad at first since my point allowance would probably be nice and high. As the point allowance dropped though I’d probably lose interest, defeating the purpose.

Leave a Reply

