• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Linguini w/ Lemon, Baby Artichoke & Asparagus

Adapted from Cooking Light Through The Seasons (411 calories 8 WW points)

This recipe argued with me from the get go. I had to adapt it from the original recipe because it’s darned near impossible to find 24 fresh baby artichokes in SEPA and happy hunting on the Papparedelle pasta. No, not even Wegmans. Only I could need more than one thing that the mighty Wegmans doesn’t carry.

Instead of papparedelle pasta (which looks like slightly thinner, longer lasagna noodles) I used linguini. I believe this will up the calorie intake a bit but not overly much.

Instead of fresh baby artichokes I went to Wegmans olive bar and got the baby artichokes there. Bonus because they are already cleaned and prepared and ready to use. After looking at the recipe for the fresh artichokes I realized it’s a good thing that I couldn’t find fresh ones because I never would have put in the effort to clean, trim and cook them.

Once we started cooking we got a bit skeptical because there really isn’t a sauce on the pasta. I was concerened because pasta not drowned in sauce isn’t pasta.

The Man asked to put the recipe in rotation so I know it was good. I gave up on counting artichokes at the olive bar at 17, next time I’ll go to 24, they were good.

Printable Recipe

INGREDIENTS

  • One Box Linguini (make it whole wheat if you can)
  • 24 Baby Artichokes (canned/jarred if you must)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 lb Asparagus
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 tsp Thyme
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 1/4 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

DIRECTIONS

  • Cook pasta according to the box
  • Heat 1tbls EVOO in a large skillet, cut artichokes in half and cook until slightly browned
  • Zest and juice half the lemon into a bowl. Add the artichokes to the bowl
  • Trim and cut asparagus into bite size pieces
  • Heat 1/4 cup water into the same skillet and add asparagus, cover and cook 5 minutes
  • Drain and add the artichoke mixture
  • Drain pasta reserving 1/2 cup cooking liquid
  • Add pasta and cooking water to artichoke & asparagus
  • Drizzle with 2 tbls olive oil, thyme, salt and pepper
  • Serves 6, top each serving with 3tbls of cheese (yes 3)

If you hubby doesn’t use all of his three tablespoons of cheese, feel free to finish his share on yours. I did!

One Response

  1. Great tip!

Leave a Reply

