• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Blueberry Muffins with Almond Streusel

From Cooking Lights Ultimate Cookbook

Umm I have got to stop taking pictures with the iPhone. They are horrible and unappetizing. I probably shouldn’t even put a picture in but when I do and I post to Facebook I don’t have to have my picture there. So bad iPhone pics it is.

These have been breakfast this week. Some other websites call them Blueberry POWER muffins. I must disagree. I have received no power from these muffins. It’s 11:00 and I’m darn near asleep at my desk. I also fell asleep last night at 7, then again around 8:30, powerful I am not.

They are packed with B vitamins and antioxidants and heart-friendly fats.

They also only have 244 calories/serving; which is two muffins. (5 WW points)

Sorry dear, it’s two, not one. Probably why you seem to be constantly starving. I will figure this healthy serving thing out soon, I promise.

The are really easy to make. Easy enough that I made them at 9:30 on a Sunday night. 9:30pm on any night I am parked on a couch or if I’m really lucky getting ready to go to bed. I’m most certainly not in the kitchen making blueberry muffins.

Day three of eating healthy. Monday was a big ole FAIL for dinner. Tuesday was a FAIL at lunch. Maybe Wednesday I can keep it together. You know this would be a lot easier if the cafe downstairs wasn’t having the BEST specials this week! I know Lobster Bisque day is coming up,  I hope I can resist. Today is breaded chicken, hot sauce, bleu cheese on a kaiser. As of late I would pretty much offer one of my thumbs for buffalo sauce. I’ve debated stapling myself to my chair.

I have a nice healthy frittata for lunch. YUM egg casserole. I know you are all wondering why in the world I would pass up spinach frittata for a buffalo chicken sandwich. Me too, it’s crazy.

I think it’s an evil plot by the cafe ladies. They ask where I’ve been, I say I’m packing because I’m trying to lose weight, then they turn around and put all the best things on the menu. They are against me. I can hear them plotting and planning an attack on my hips. Secretly trying to get me to graduate from the muffin top to a baker’s dozen. I’ll show them!

What was this about??

Oh yeah, muffins!

INGREDIENTS

Muffins

  • 1 1/2 Cup All-Purpose flour
  • 1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 Cup Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1 Tbls Baking Powder
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 Cups Low-Fat Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1/2 Cup Reduced Fat Milk
  • 3 Tbls Canola Oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Lg Egg
  • 1 1/2 Cup Fresh Blueberries
  • Cooking Spray

Streusel

  • 1/4 Cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Slivered Almonds, chopped (PChef Chopper to the rescue)
  • 1 Tbls Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tbls Butter, melted

DIRECTIONS

  • Pre-heat oven to 400
  • Spray muffin tins with cooking spray
  • Mix flours, oats, sugar, baking powder & soda, salt in a large bowl and whisk to combine
  • Mix yogurt, milk, oil, vanilla and egg, whisk to combine
  • Add yogurt mix with flour mix and stir until just combined. Use a spatula not a whisk.
  • Add blueberries and mix gently
  • Drop about 2Tbls of batter into each muffin cups
  • Combine all streusel ingredients with a fork and sprinkle over each muffin
  • Bake for 15 minutes
  • Allow to cool for 10
  • Seal in an airtight container. Can be frozen for up to a month

I got 24 muffins using just a bit less than 2 tbls. Just a reminder, QUICK COOKING oats! I do not believe this is negotiable. The muffins are light and fluffy, sweet and tart and make for a quick easy breakfast.


mmmmmmm buffalo sauce

3 Responses

  1. Those sound delicious! I too am trying to eat healthy. (Winter decided to be very unkind to me this year, something I’ve become aware of when trying on my too tight summer clothes!) Hope it works for you! I, on the other hand, keep finding food that tastes too good to care! Lol 🙂

  2. i heart you for the WW points 🙂 also they sound tasty as all get out. gonna have to make them!

  3. They sound mouth watering to me.

Leave a Reply

