• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Mini Scalloped Potatoes

I found this recipe on Tasty Kitchen, originally done by TheNoshery.

I went into this recipe with some skepticism. I didn’t really have a choice though. It was first to pop on a Google search, I was in the grocery store parking lot and I didn’t get any ideas from The Man. The original recipe called for green onions but my corner grocer doesn’t carry fancy stuff like that. I opted for a white onion, you can do either. It was fantastical.

It’s also super easy and doesn’t require hours upon hours of slicing potatoes paper thin.

They are also part of the reason I haven’t been able to solve the problem of my missing feet. Needless to say they are not part of the “diet”. Shamefully I had them for lunch. The last 3 itty bitty ones. I know that I shouldn’t have but I didn’t have anything prepared for lunch today.

I’m really feeling bad because I just finished my cheesy buttery lunch and I sent the Man to work with fruit and a muffin. I even went as far as getting the lunches ready this morning before he woke up and putting mine in the bag out of the kitchen zipped up tight before he saw what I was smuggling out of the house.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6 Whole White potatoes
  • 1 Stick of Butter (not really)
  • 1 Cup Cheddar Cheese (probably more if you think cheese is manna from above)
  • 1/2 White Onion Chopped
  • 12 tbsp half and half

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 400
  • Pierce potatoes with a fork and wrap in damp paper towel
  • Microwave on HIGH for 15 minutes
  • Place 1/2tbls butter in the bottom of 12 muffin tins
  • When Potatoes are cool to touch slice them about 1/4 inch thick
  • Place one slice on in each muffin, sprinkle w/ cheese, sprinkle with onion
  • Layer another potato, cheese, onion, potato, cheese, onion (you get the idea)
  • Try to get 3 layers ending with cheese and onion on top (I only got two)
  • place another 1/2 Tbls on top
  • Drizzle each with tbls half and half
  • Bake for 20 minutes

The original recipe called for a teaspoon of half and half. I paid no mind to that and decided to up it to a tablespoon. Not on purpose but because it was Friday and I had a reading comprehension fail. It was all fine and dandy.

A table-spoon of butter for each cup was WAY too much (might have had something to do with the increased half and half too). Not only did the butter overflow in the oven but once they came out I drained them off.

When I made them again (on a Sunday of course!) I will only use a slice (like maybe less than 1/2 tbls butter in each cup. Cheddar cheese has a tendency to get a bit greasy when melted as well.

One Response

  1. I’m telling! JK!

Leave a Reply

