• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Prosciutto & Fig Pizza

OHHH Check out the new Feed on the left, for all you Google Reader. Also I’m now on the Foodie Blogroll check it out on the bottom right! Wicked funsies.

I know, it sounds weird. Don’t let that fool you. This thing was soooo good. It was a combination of everything I’ve loved for years and my new obsession, figs.

Like fig newtons. They are not the cutest little fruit to be found but oh me oh my are they sweet and chewy and so tasty.

The bleu cheese is like the sauce for the pizza. I like bleu cheese. The original recipe called for gorgonzola. My little grocer didn’t have gorgonzola, I wasn’t going on a massive hunt for it and even though The Man said they weren’t the same thing I think bleu and gorgonzola are the same thing. They look-alike. ‘Nough said.

Maybe I will give it a whirl with gorgonzola next time. Let me know how it is if you try it.

Adapted from Bon Appetit.
Printable Version
INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Lg Ball of Pizza Dough from your local pizzeria.
  • 8 oz of Crumbled Bleu Cheese
  • 8-10 slices prosciutto
  • 6-8 Figs (dried or fresh) sliced into bite size pieces
  • 2 Tbls Balsamic Vinegar

DIRECTIONS

  • Pre-heat oven to 450
  • Roll out your dough to fit your pizza stone. I used the Pampered Chef large rectangle stone
  • Spread the bleu cheese evenly across the pizza
  • Bake 15-20 minutes, until bottom of crust is golden and cheese is melted
  • While crust is baking slice the figs and soak in balsamic vinegar
  • Lay prosciutto on top of cheese covering the whole pizza
  • Sprinkle the fig pieces evenly across the prosciutto
  • Drizzle with remaining balsamic
  • Bake for another minute or two until the figs are warmed.

I am way to massively lazy on a Tuesday night to make pizza dough and most pizza doughs are better a day after they are made and I don’t know what I’m making for dinner until the day of. You can see how this won’t work. A pizzaria that has been open for longer than a year has obviously already perfected their dough. Who am I to think I could do better than those who make their living off dough? I feel its only the right thing to purchase from them instead of trying it at home. Who has that kind of time?

A large ball of dough from my pizzeria is only $1.35. Maybe only pennies higher than making it yourself and not nearly as time-consuming.

I also use pizzeria dough for antipasta roll and pepperoni roll.

My only complaint is that Dominos does not sell the dough for their cinnamon sticks, which would have made Cinnamon Rolls much easier. I know, I tried. They laughed.

We are leaving for vacation tomorrow with The Mans family I think we are both super excited. My goal while away is to interview The Man. I have to think of questions. I think it will be fun. We’ll see what he thinks. I’ll let you know how it goes.

One Response

  1. Thank you so much for your lovely comments on my SITS DAY!
    Hope you have a great day!
    Betty x

Leave a Reply

