• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Cinnamon Buns

I know they don’t look all that appetizing but it was the first go round.

This recipe was chock full of errors and mistakes. The picture alone shows the over crowded and slightly too done buns. Also do you see any icing on those babies? No, I didn’t think so.

Did any of this change the fact that they were ooey, gooey, sweet and delicious? NO!

I was going to make the Pioneer Womans buns that she featured on Fox and Friends until I realized she used 8 CUPS of flour and other massively large amounts of ingredients. I searched far and wide looking for an easy dough recipe that used normal quantities. I finally settled on Paula Deen and set to work.

This is where I learned that you cannot, no way absolutely cannot make a dough with a whisk. Epic fail doesn’t even begin to cover what was sitting in my mixing bowl. Every time I think about it I stop and bonk myself on the head and say duh, that was stupid.

Weeping, internet recipe searches via the iPhone and lots of whining later I remembered I had a bread machine. Certainly a bread machine would have a sweet dough recipe and according to the booklet that came along with it, I didn’t have to do anything but feed it ingredients.

Let me just say that this thing is amazing. I just put the ingredients in hit “mix and need” and left to get my nails done. When I returned the dough was mixed, kneaded, risen, soft and ready to be rolled. This is the day I truly fell in love with an appliance.

If you don’t have a bread machine, go get one. They are worth their weight in cinnamon rolls alone. Just kidding! You can easily make the dough in a mixer with a dough hook. Just set your mixing bowl in a pan filled with hot water to get it to rise properly, about 1-2 hrs should do.

My next issue was where in the world I was going to roll out 2lbs of dough. I didn’t have my schmancy new counter yet.

P.S. I’m only giving you the recipe for 1.5 lbs of dough because as you can see my pan was severely over crowded.

SHHH! That’s me in the dining room behind our nice, somewhat new dining room table.

That’s the Mans empty chair, he was at a Dude Fest far far away.

That’s my messy, floury dough rolled out on the dining room table

That’s still the messy dough although now it’s covered in a cup of melted butter, 2 cups of sugar and bucket of cinnamon. Still on the dining room table.

I’m going to leave the picture of me rolling and cutting the dough out. From where I am now the Man could get to me within 20 minutes or so. Thats just not long enough to finish everything I want to in this life.

So here’s what you do…
Printable Version

INGREDIENTS
 
Dough 
  • 2 Eggs at Room Temperature (gently warm by placing whole eggs in a bowl w/ moderately hot tap water for 10 mins)
  • 6 Tbls Water
  • 4 1/2 Tbls Sour Cream
  • 4 1/2 Tbls Unsalted Butter, Room Temp. cut in 1/2 in pieces
  • 4 1/2 Tbls Sugar
  • 3 Cup + 1 Tbls Bread Flour (I used all-purpose, I have no idea the difference, wing it)
  • 2 1/4 tsp Yeast (active dry or instant)
 Icing
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 to 6 tablespoons hot water
 Filling
  • 1 Cup Melted Butter
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Walnuts or raisins (if you’re into that kind of thing) 
DIRECTIONS
 
Rolls
  • Pre-heat oven to 350
  • Follow your bread machines instructions if you’re using one for the dough. If not see below
  • Put all of the ingredients in the order listed into your mixing bowl
  • Use the dough hook to mix everything together. Walk away.
  • Once the dough is all combined remove the hook and put dough in a bowl spritzed with cooking spray.
  • Place the bowl in a pan filled with hot water
  • Cover with a towel and wait 1-2 hours until the dough doubles in size
  • Once risen punch the dough down and roll out into a 15×9 inch rectangle
  • Pour melted butter over surface
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.
  • Sprinkle with raisins or walnuts, if your into that kind of thing)
  • Beginning on the 15in side roll the dough and pinch edges to seal
  • Slice into 12 to 15 slices
  • Coat the bottom of your pan with more melted butter and sprinkle with sugar
  • Place rolls close together in pan and let rise for another hour
  • Bake for about 30 mins (mine should have come out at 25)
 Icing
  • Melt butter in a sauce pan
  • Add powdered sugar and vanilla
  • Add hot water 1tbls at a time until it reaches desired consistency
  • Pour over slightly cooled rolls

Seriously, when I said walk away, I meant it. Get out of your kitchen. Let me mixer do what it’s supposed to do. I almost lost a finger or two when I felt that I could do a better job and stuck my hand in the machine to help combine everything. It will eventually all come together into a nice little ball of dough.

You also can’t see my icing because I added to much water and poured over the flaming hot rolls. It all just seeps down into the dough. Really, do it tablespoon by tablespoon.

And a lifetime and a good work out later you have wonderful cinnamon rolls. For sure this will be a company only kind of task if I ever do it again. Even though it’s all waiting for the dough to rise it’s still felt like a major pain in the patoot for me.

I am currently on a mission to find an easier way to do this. One that doesn’t include a pressurized can and cute dough boy.

4 Responses

  1. That pic is not necessary as I can make my assumptions as to WHERE you did the cutting. You are lucky that I cannot leave work right now. See you at home sweetie.

  2. You name the time, I’ll be down and you can make them for me. I qualify as company right?

    • No, sorry, you don’t really qualify as company. Your one of the rare few I won’t do a massive clean and scrub for. But that’s a really good thing as friends go. And it doesn’t mean I won’t make you cinnamon rolls!

Leave a Reply

