• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • wordpress visitor counter

Chicken Tetrazzini

I do not know what it is about Chicken Tetrazzini or what you put in your chicken Tetrazzini but after I found out that this poor woman’s man was stolen with a casserole I figured I better find out how to make it. I couldn’t take the risk of some floozy making the Man some Tetrazzini and having him run out on me for a creamy casserole. Maybe he’d fall even harder in love with me in the process; I knew it must be done!

Yet another recipe that called for wine. I think the last few months have proved that it’s time to suck it up and purchase some wine for cooking or become a wino. Ohh being a wino has some distinct possibilities. I have learned my lesson though and actually used the wine. One day I am going to find an alternative, just when I happen to be a little more bored and bit less lazy. No really, I take lazy to another level.

My one year wedding anniversary is this weekend. The pictures hanging in my house still have the model photographs in them. Yeppers, I hung them anyway.

Yes, I’m well aware that you can print pictures at any drug store. I’ve been printing pictures for years, thanks.

I just don’t have the time or desire to do it. Every time I go there armed with my little disk of perfect photographic history I freak.

I look through them all, none of them fit, I don’t know which I want for each frame, do I really want to put them in the frames on the shelf because I was thinking about a picture wall and that would be a ton of pictures, and do I keep them all from the church or the artistic ones, and what will the man think, and someone is soooo going to comment on my choices, and I have to have equal number of each family and then what if there are too many of us and what if one immediate family member is missing and then I sweat and get overwhelmed and run.

I literally run out of Walgreens every couple of weeks. They know me. They all secretly make bets on whether I’m actually going to print something that day.

So the whole point of me telling you that I’m lazy is because I should have read this recipe before hand. It is not for the lazy! It is probably the best casserole I have ever had but I might make it once a year. That’s only if I’m feeling particularly energetic on a Saturday; never on a weekday.

It’s a hearty dish is great for families or get-together. We had plenty for about 3 days; it’s so good it really didn’t bother us all that much. 

I put love in my Tetrazzini.

Adapted From the beautiful Giada De Laurentiis

PRINTER FRIENDLY

INGREDIENTS:

  • 9 Tbls Butter
  • 2 Tbls Olive Oil
  • 4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 2 ¼ tsp Salt
  • 1 ¼ tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 Pound White Mushroom
  • 5 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 Tbls Chopped Thyme
  • ½ Cup Dry White Wine
  • 1/3 Cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 4 Cup Whole Milk, room temperature
  • 1 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream, room temp
  • 1 Cup chicken Broth
  • 1/8 tsp. Ground Nutmeg
  • 12 ounces Linguine
  • ¾ cup Frozen Peas
  • ¼ cup Chopped Fresh Italian Parsley
  • 1 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • ¼ cup Dried Italian Breadcrumbs

 DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat oven to 450 F
  • Cook linguine according to package, when finished add to large bowl
  • Spread 1 Tbls butter in a 13×9 inch baking dish.
  • Melt 1 Tbls butter and 1 Tbls oil in a non stick skillet and cook chicken breast. About 4 min/side. Remove to a plate and cube into bite size pieces. Add to linguine
  • Add 1 Tbls butter and 1 Tbls oil in the same chicken pan and add mushrooms. Sauté until mushrooms become pale golden, 12 minutes.
  • Add Onion, garlic, thyme and sauté another 8 minutes.
  • Add wine and simmer about 2 minutes
  • Transfer mushroom mixture to the bowl w/ the chicken & linguine
  • Melt 3 Tbls butter in the same skillet
  • Add flour and whisk for 2 minutes
  • Whisk in milk, cream, broth, nutmeg, 1 ¾ teaspoon of salt, ¾ tsp pepper.
  • Increase heat to high, cover, boil
  • Uncover and simmer until sauce thickens, whisking often. Takes about 10 minutes
  • Add sauce to linguini, chicken & mushrooms
  • Add peas and parsley
  • Toss until well coated
  • Move mixture to a prepared baking dish
  • Stir together cheese and breadcrumbs, sprinkle over pasta
  • Dot the top of the dish with the 3 remaining Tbls of butter
  • Bake uncovered for abut 25 minutes

I enjoy telling you the correct, undoubtedly delicious ways of doing something and then telling you what I did. 

I didn’t use peas. Something didn’t seem right about it; a green veggie with all of this creamy cheesy goodness? NO 

I didn’t use the fresh parsley. Again with the fresh herbs. It is also a bitch (pardon me no other description will fit) to chop fresh herbs. My knife never seems to want to cut all the way through and I end up with handfuls of bruised leaves. The herbs themselves never want to stay in one place and the proximity of knife to finger for this one sets my nerves a flutter. 

Mrs. McCormick the one with the red top in the baking aisle of the local Giant Food Stores has a lovely selection of herbs. 

Remember, Miz Martha sayz, the ratio of fresh to dried herbs is 3 to 1. So for you math wiz people; if a recipe calls for 3 cups of fresh rosemary, you would only use 1 cup of dry. And that’s about at mathematical as I can get at 4:00 on a Tuesday. 

I used a whole bag of egg noodles instead of the 12 ounces of linguine and this is why we ate Tetrazzini for days. This is also the reasons that mine over flowed; which in turn led to a dirty oven. Dirty ovens must be clean and our nifty little stove does it all by it’s lonesome. 

The fire trucks also come all by themselves too. I’m kind of a cleanliness spaz (when the mood is right) and I opt to not even look at the oven now. I just avoid it and all will be well. I know that I will not have the entire emergency rescue team of the ‘Ville at my house again.

Leave a Reply

