• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Golumpkis

Oh what your not Polish? Fine then. Holubky. No not Slovak either. Ok, what about töltött káposzta, holubtsi, balandėliai, kohlrouladen or holishkes. No, Hungarian, Russian, Lithuanian, German or Yiddish either I guess. 

I’m 3 out of 7. I’ve had some Golumpki in my time. I’ll give it to you in English, stuffed cabbage. That is the only time you will hear me call it that. Not only is Golumpki fun to say but it also sounds a lot better. 

I channeled my Nanny (the moms mom) for this one. I have no idea how she made hers. She passed away when I was 21 or 22, which was before my stove and I had even met. I’m going to call it her recipe and pass it on as such until one of my aunts, uncles or older cousins corrects me. Although, I’m pretty sure she didn’t use Chunky Style Garden Veggie Prego sauce. What?! Somethings should be updated for ease. 

INGREDIENTS: 

  • 1 to 1 1/4 Meat Loaf Mix or Ground Beef
  • 1 Head Savoy Cabbage
  • 1 White Onion (chopped)
  • 4 Cloves Garlic (chopped)
  • 1 Can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 Palm Full of Bread Crumbs
  • 1 Less than full Palm of Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Tbls Oregano
  • 1/2 Tbls Parsley
  • Salt and Pepper (if you choose, I forgot, can’t hurt though)
  • 1 Jar Prego Chunky Garden Veggie Sauce

DIRECTIONS: 

  • Pre-heat oven for 375
  • Peel leaves off of the cabbage one at a time so that you have large full leaves
  • Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and boil the cabbage leaves for 2-3 minutes
  • While the cabbage is boiling saute the chopped onions in a Tbls of olive oil
  • Once the onions are translucent, not yet browned, remove them to a large bowl.
  • Stare** together the onions, meat, bread crumbs, cheese, egg, spices, tomatoes until thoroughly combined.
  • Working with one leaf of cabbage at a time and with the spine of the leave facing you put a handful of the meat mixture in the natural curve of the leaf. Tuck the sides as you roll making a neat little package
  • Spray a 9×13 glass baking dish with cooking spray and line the Golumpkis up in 2 rows
  • Pour sauce over
  • Cover with foil
  • Bake for 1 hour
  • Remove foil and bake for an additional 20 minutes

I got about 14 rolls using the Savoy cabbage. Savoy leaves are much smaller than a normal green cabbage, which held less meat and was the reason why I got so many. If they were any bigger it might have been a bit much on the filling. You can use either green or Savoy. We were really happy with the way they turned out.   

Since I didn’t know how many leaves of cabbage or how big they were or how much stuffing was needed I bought just over 2 pounds of meat loaf mix and made it all. I currently have almost a pound of cabbage stuffing at home in my fridge thinking about what I can possibly do with it. CRAP! I meant to Google that today. 

**What the heck is stare? It’s stir. My nanny from deep in PA farm country, or what used to be farm country, always said stare instead of stir. Oh the woman was a trip  

One Response

  1. Rachel; it was nice to think of your Nanny while reading this recipe; she was a sweet lady…and a good cook apparently!

Leave a Reply

