• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Operation Baking GALS

Operation Baking Gals (give a little support) is an organization of volunteers who send homemade baked goods to solders stationed in areas of war. Each month there is a new group of soldiers selected to receive the baked goods. You can read there stories and choose who you’d like to send to. Each soldier gets a group of about 20 bakers, who each send him a package of goodies. The idea is to show them that their sacrifice for our freedom is noticed and appreciated.

They review every baker and today I got my acceptance email saying that I was welcome and could start signing up for rounds!

I just finished signing up to bake for Jesse. Jesse has been stationed in Afghanistan for 6 months and has an additional 6 months to go. While Jesse was away he became a father, he will meet his son for the first time around his first birthday. I got a little weepy and couldn’t imagine not having Paul around for the first year of our childs life.

These men and women sacrifice so much for us and so many are unacknowledged. I know baked goods really can’t compare to what a soldier has done for me, but it’s still something. It’s what I can do. Hopefully it will help someone smile or at least make them feel appreciated.

Now I just need to figure out what to send!! Maybe alittle 7 Layer Magic Bars

4 Responses

  1. I just signed up for Baking GALS today with my mom. How funny! Let me know how it goes.
    I’m thinking of sending homemade Samoas Bars. I have to admit, I’m making them partly b/c I want them, but figured the troops would dig them too. 🙂

  2. I’ve always called the 7-layer bars – Hello Dolly’s?!?! Anyway they are awesome and I’ve never met anyone who wouldn’t devour them; I’m sure Jesse will LOVE em’

Leave a Reply

