• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

A Real Mans Sandwich

WOW! Another Pioneer Woman favorite! I’m going to have to take a bit of a hiatus from her site to go out and see what other items the world has to offer. I could not resist giving it a try though.

I don’t really like steak sandwiches but when I noticed it called for 2 sticks of butter my arteries seized in joy and I knew it was a snow day must have! No seriously, it’s worth it. It’s not really 2 sticks either. I did it easily with one. Even just once. Everyone needs a cheat day. Even if you just try it and then throw the recipe away and never look at it again, its worth it. I’ll keep quiet but I know you won’t be able to eat it just once.

THE CAST:

  • 1 Large whole White Onion, halved and sliced
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 2 pounds Cube Steak.
  • Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • ½ cups Worcestershire Sauce
  • Tabasco Sauce, To Taste
  • 4 whole Deli Rolls

DIRECTIONS:

  • Cook sliced onion in 1/4 stick of butter until golden brown. Remove from the pan and set aside
  • Melt 2 Tbls butter in same pan until it begins to brown. Add the meat and season with the seasoning salt.
  • Once meat is cooked add Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco to taste, 2 Tbls butter and onions. Stir to combine. Add more Worcestershire if you like more sauce.
  • Butter the inside of your rolls and brown on a skillet.
  • Pile rolls with meat & onions, top with sauce

I could not find cube steak, actually I’ve never seen this at any grocery store. Not even Wegmans! I know, I know it’s almost against the law to say Wegmans doesn’t have something but I think we may have found their one missing item. Cube steak is not steak that has been cubed, like beef stew cubes. It’s actually round steaks that have been super tenderized.

I knew I wouldn’t find this cube steak so I was resigned to getting a regular steak and pounding away on it for hours in my kitchen until it finally resembled what it was supposed to be.

Lucky for me and angry mob of crazy mothers who were faced with having to keep their children home for days on end due to pending blizzard saved me from buying steak of any kind and I was forced to the pits of Steak-Ums. Even if there was steak left I probably would have come to my senses before check out that there was no way my lazy tush was going to tenderize steak. I just would rather say I was forced into Steak-Ums.

The cube steak I’m sure would be more tender and flavorful but the Steak Ums were still extraordinary. My hunny isn’t eating grains (or something like that) this week but you can betcha bottom dollar that as soon as he does I’m going to make these again.

Leave a Reply

