• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Love That Board

I’m brutal on cutting boards. Because I am so in tune with my destructive abilities I keep all my nice wooden boards safely hidden in my appliance cabinet (read: garage). I personally use plastic boards, the thin ones you can purchase at Bed Bath and Beyond in sets of 5 for $10.

Why? Hello! Did you seriously just ask that question? No, I guess I did but I’ll still explain. I have no counter tops (YET) so to avoid cutting my veggies on the same board that I just cut chicken I need to have something light weight that I can easily toss into my sink to get it out of my way. Also, they are wicked cheap, easily replaceable and can go in the dishwasher.

Correction, most can go in the dishwasher. If you buy the cute kind that has the silicone bottoms to avoid slippage they cannot go in the dishwasher. That silicone (if it even is, I think its more of a painted on rubber by-product) melts and comes off, effectively staining both your hands and your light-colored food the next time you use them. Don’t go there, it’s gross. It also takes forever to figure out why your chicken breast has a greenish blue hue. Blech.

If your worried about slippage of the plastic boards get a piece of rubber carpet mesh. BB&B sells it by the roll and you only need a few inches to slide under your board. If you don’t want to buy a whole role just snip a piece from under your friends area rug next time your there. I kid, I kid!

Anyway, as I’ve stated for 2 weeks my cabinets & counter are in and I’m patiently waiting to go pick them up and then I’m busting out the real cutting boards. Little did I know at the time of this decision that they actually required care, beyond the washing afterwards. Here’s what I learned, which will hopefully help your (and my) wooden cutting boards last forever.

  • Prior to use apply slightly warm mineral oil with a cloth in the direction of the grain. Let soak for 15 minutes
  • Keep repeating until the board doesn’t take anymore oil, around 4 or 5 times
  • Scrub and wash with a mild soap and hot water after every use, do not submerge the board in the water, stand upright to dry and don’t store until completely dry
  • Use lemon juice and coarse salt for a good scrubbing every couple of uses and a spritz of vinegar to disinfect.
  • It is NOT recommended to use any form of bleach on your wooden cutting boards
  • Do NOT put in the dishwasher
  • When the wood begins to lighten repeat the oil process, this will prevent your board from cracking

I can probably honestly say that I won’t follow the rules, then I’ll be massively upset when the board is ruined, then I’ll sing the praises of mineral oil after I replace the board. Lazy. 

Wooden cutting boards naturally have antibacterial properties, last the longest and are easy on knife blades. A bit of care and love will make them last a long time and save your expensive knives as well.

Glass is another option. It’s nonporous, heat-resistant and easy to clean. It’s also rough on your knife blades and the sounds produced by running honed steel across a glass board will make you go deaf. If you can deal, go for it. I can’t. Noises are part of my OCD, the sound would probably bring me to tears. Just thinking about it gives me chills and makes me want to cry.

2 Responses

  1. Hi I just linked this post to my site … hope you don’t mind too much.
    I have a woodworking site… and I make Wooden Cutting Boards… go figure… your blog on care of the board is very good… thank you..
    Lazy Larry

  2. […] board should be re-oiled whenever it seems dry.. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Love That BoardWooden Cutting Board Care and Cleaning Instructions -27.042280 […]

Leave a Reply

