• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Mushroom Soup

I’m pretty sure I’ve never had a better soup. I’m kind of easy to please though. A pint of heavy cream and I’m pretty sure I’ll be your girl for life. Food had it so much easier than my husband!

I once worked with a guy would couldn’t stand mushrooms. I mean totally ranted about them if they were within view, it was a strange hatred. One that I now feel bad about because he will never enjoy the goodness that is Mushroom Soup.

So, after the whole Cajun Chicken Pasta debacle where I had to face the fact that I was no Jesus and could not make water do what wine was meant to do. Sad day for sure.

The soup is from the Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Kitchen Blog, check out my new clicky badge on the right to visit. We made it on our first snowed in weekend last Saturday, it went well with the Cheddar Biscuits.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 Tbls EVOO
  • 1 Whole Small Carrot, minced (Slap Chop that biz)
  • 1 Whole Celery Stalk, minced (same)
  • 1 Tbls Garlic, crushed and minced (more slapping)
  • 1 Pound White Mushrooms, Sliced thin
  • 4 oz fluid Chablis White Wine
  • 4 oz fluid Chicken Broth
  • 4 oz fluid Tomato Juice
  • 1 Pint Heavy Cream
  • 1 Cup Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Teaspoon Cornstarch
  • 1/4 Cup water
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

DIRECTIONS:

  • Heat oil over medium heat in a large deep pot
  • Add carrot and celery and allow to soften for a few minutes
  • Add garlic as carrot and celery begin to cook down (shrink and become translucent)
  • Add mushrooms and allow to cook and soften
  • Pour in wine and cook for 2-3 minutes
  • Add tomato juice and chicken broth, boil for 5 minutes
  • Add creme and bring to soft boil.
  • Add parmesan and allow to melt for a few minutes
  • Mix cornstarch and water with a fork and pour into soup.
  • Lower the heat and simmer for 10 minutes until thicken

About that Chablis, whatever you call it white wine, yeah I didn’t do that. Again! The first time truly was a lesson learned and I didn’t use water. I used red wine. Merlot to be exact. It was already open. What do you want from me?!? I cannot buy and open wine for a measly 4 oz! I’m not exactly a regular drinker either, I prefer the binge method, thankyouverymuch! It will go to waste and I can’t be throwin out bottles of wine every time a recipe calls for it. I need to improvise. I’ll find something that can replace wine without taking too much from the flavor, you just wait.

Anyway the Man said it was amazingly good, but would probably be better with white wine, whatev.

OHHH and about that whole 4oz liquid thing. I didn’t pay much mind to that either. I used half a cup because a whole cup holds 8 oz so mathematically that’s correct. I have no idea if there is a difference between a dry and fluid 1/2 cup. I do not have patience to sit there and figure out measurement conversions. No, not even enough for the iPhone app to do it for me. Deep down, I know that 4oz is the same as half a cup, I just second guess myself because they specifically state, “fluid”. So I could be wrong.

Either way it was good.

Leave a Reply

