• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

The Blizzard of 2010 and Cajun Chicken Pasta

Ohh I’ll start with the Blizzard, I guess

AHHHHHHH ZOMG, milk, bread, dog food, bottled water and batteries. Go to the store. Prepare. Turn the heat up. Get the salt. Lift the wind shield wipers. Strategically place cars to minimize shoveling area. Hunker down and pray to the nature gods that we make it through.

Oy Vey. It’s Pennsylvania peeps! We have gotten about 12 inches total ALL year. Syracuse by example received about 150 inches in the ’08-’09 winter. Could you natives even deal?!?

I need to move where there is enough snow for people to say, “eh just another day” or where there is no snow at all. This in-betweeney crap isn’t working for me. The problem with this area is that we don’t get enough snow for people to be used to it and demurely go about their preparations but we get enough to for people to know our plows are near useless. We also get enough for the, “ohh the storm of “insert year here”, conversations.

I’m annoyed only because I don’t have gloves and shoveling without gloves sucks. Oh and because my dogs have an aversion to messing up the pretty white stuff with their biz. Snow is my dogs worst enemy, oh and being cold and wet, they are such freaking pansies. I guess I will have to shovel them a spot too with my cold frost bitten fingers.

Here’s my Q, why when preparing for impending doom does one buy the most perishable items? I don’t know about you but I don’t want spoiled milk if my electric goes out. My prep tonight will consist of hearty cans of beans and Hormel Chili. Maybe I’ll even hook it up with those little canned potatoes; which I know are quite good with a bit of butter, salt and pepper wrapped in foil and cooked over an open flame. I got mad camping skillz.

Enough whining. On to the pasta!

Courtesy of The Pioneer Woman

FAIL! That is all.

It tasted really good but I made a few mistakes and substitutions that shouldn’t have been made and the result was not a hearty cream sauce that stuck to my pasta but rather a very tasty soup like sauce.

First mistake came with the following thought process…”Cajun, huh? What exactly is that? Ok so I’m thinking Cajun, which makes me think of Louisiana, which makes me think of Creole. Same difference, right? Ok we’ll go with that.”

For the record, I still don’t know if they are the same. It was good and that’s all that mattered.

Second mistake was that I didn’t feel like opening a bottle of white wine so I used water. Hindsight tells me I should have just left it out and not bothered with it. Intellegence tells me that I should have just used the white wine. I’m going to be snowed in for months I would have drank it. I believe this is why my sauce didn’t thicken.

I’m not going to lie, even though I screwed up it was tasty and the cheddar bay biscuits I conjured up didn’t hurt either. They were perfect for dipping in the extra sauce and put Red Lobster to shame.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cut Into Cubes
  • 3 teaspoons Cajun Spice (or Creole, whatevs)
  • 1 pound Fettuccine
  • Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 whole Green Bell Pepper, Seeded And Sliced
  • 1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Seeded And Sliced
  • ½ whole Large Red Onion, Sliced
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced (forgot)
  • 4 whole Roma Tomatoes, Diced (used regular w/out seeds and pulp, corner grocer didn’t have roma)
  • 2 cups Chicken Broth
  • ½ cups White Wine (used water, idea/fail)
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream

DIRECTIONS

  • Cook Pasta according to package
  • Cut chicken into cubes and season well with spice mix. Melt 1tbls butter and 1tbls olive oil in your skillet. Once hot add chicken and cook until brown on all sides. Remove to a plate.
  • Add 1tbls butter and 1tbls olive oil to pan and Add peppers and onions and sprinkle with Cajun Seasoning. Cook until tender and blackened. Add tomatoes and cook for another 30 seconds or so. Remove to a plate.
  • Keep heat on high and add wine and broth.
  • Reduce to low/med and whisk in cream. Cook for a few minutes until hot and bubbly
  • Add all the veggies and chicken back to the pan and cook for 1-2 minutes
  • Stir in drained & cooked fettuccini

Really it’s a nice break form the normal pasta flavors and despite the mishaps it was very tasty.

2 Responses

  1. A distinguished Blog about how to make VEGETARIAN dishes.

Leave a Reply

