• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Cupcake Bites

Courtesy of Bakerella

Ummm yeah so mine don’t look as neat and clean as hers but I lack a bit of patience and it was my first attempt.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 box cake mix (cook as directed on box for 13 X 9 cake)
  • 1 can cream cheese frosting (16 oz.)
  • 1 package chocolate bark (or candy melts for cupcake bottom)
  • colored candy melts (for cupcake top)
  • candy cup mold (like a peanut butter cup)

DIRECTIONS

  •  After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl. (The texture should be fine/fluffy)
  • Using the back of a large spoon, mix thoroughly with 1 can cream cheese frosting. (It may be easier to use fingers to mix together, but be warned it will get messy.)
  • Roll mixture into quarter size balls (make sure they are smaller in diameter than that of your candy mold) and lay on wax paper covered cookie sheet.
  • Chill in the freezer for a few minutes, until they are slightly firm, not frozen.
  • Melt chocolate bark and candy melts in microwave per directions on package.
  • Using a spoon or squeeze bottle, fill each mold cavity with a small amount of chocolate. Sorry, I didn’t think to measure how much. But as soon as you fill the cavity, go ahead and place one of your rolled balls into it. Carefully push it down until the force causes the chocolate to push up and fill in around the sides of the ball. You may have to experiment with a couple to get the right amount. Stop pushing once the chocolate reaches the top edge.
  • Place the mold tray filled with cupcakes in the freezer for just a few minutes to let the chocolate set. Remove and then gently pull up on the cake ball top to release from candy mold.
  • Now, holding the bottom of the cupcake, dip the top in another color of melted chocolate.
  • Decorate.

I give you Bakerellas directions exactly because my “I-know-better” way wasn’t really better.

I crumbled the cake, mixed the icing and put the bowl in the fridge and not rolling the balls and chilling them. By the time I got to the bottom of the bowl it was too warm and falling apart.

Also because I knew better and didn’t need to read the stupid instructions I filled my candy molds and used a freaking brush to paint the sides of the mold to make a cup. DUH if I had just read the instructions I would have realized that the weight of the cupcake would be enough and it would have given me a much cleaner look.

Ohhh candy melts, we have such a love/hate relationship. THESE are candy melts. It’s actually really hard to hate them because of all the neat things you can do with them. BUT they are really hard to like because they could probably induce diabetes with their sweetness. They are so sweet it makes it quite hard to eat more than one.

I think I might ditch candy melts and use strictly chocolate, real chocolate and then decorate with the colors. Yes, the candy melt colors are sweet and pretty but I’m afraid of the dentist.

Mixing the icing in with the cake is an ingenious idea. I used red velvet cake and even 3 days old the cake was deliciously moist and good.

I was shocked at how easy they were and if I had followed the directions they would have been even easier. It’s a fun way to spice up dessert, especially for a childs party. Next time, I’m ditching the mold and using cookie cutters to make a big rectangle and a small rectangle and making wedding cakes. You can see the wedding cakes on the Bakerella site as well.

Here is the picture I have of one I made. Like I said don’t judge it was my first attempt! The picture was also taken with my phone so it’s not the best. Despite what they look like, they were frickin delish. Ohh and that’s my coffee pot too!

One Response

  1. Who are you kidding?!?! These things looked and tasted phenomenal!!

Leave a Reply

