• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Garlic Bread

No, I’m sorry it’s not garlic bread; it’s love in a basket.

I adore garlic and find it quite vital to my existence using it in many (most) meals.

One of my first memories of garlic wasn’t so pleasant though. I was at the Mans parents house about a year into our relationship. His mom was making dinner, he was helping and I was watching. Someone asked me if I liked garlic to which I replied, “love it” and popped a raw slice into my mouth. Effectively proving that I had no idea what I was doing and shouldn’t be any where near a stove top. My mouth instantly went up in flames and tears came to my eyes from both the pain and the mortification No one eats raw garlic no matter how much you love its roasted sweetness. Paul just stared, I often find him doing this, it makes me wonder.

From then on out, when I’m asked if I like something that I’ve never had before I promptly say “no”, except for one lapse with anchovies which only proved further that I should always answer NO.

Chewy, garlicy, buttery and cheesy this bread is beautiful. I have to give credit to Paul’s mom for my introduction and eventual addiction to the stuff.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Loaf Italian Bread, found in the bakery aisle of the grocer
  • 1 stick butter. Don’t skimp just use the butter.
  • 7-8 Cloves Garlic (pressed)
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Parsley flakes (or not, these are kinda just pretty for me)

DIRECTIONS

  • In a microwave safe bowl melt the butter and the pressed cloves
  • Slice your bread in half long ways and use a basting brush to spread the butter and garlic mixture on both sides
  • Put the halves back together, wrap in foil and bake at 350 for 20 minutes
  • Remove the foil, separate the halves and sprinkle cheese and parsley flakes on each side.
  • Place under the broiler on high until the cheese is bubbly.
  • When complete, put the halves back together and slice into 1.5 inch slices

There is no time on how long it should stay under the broiler. Please note though that if you leave your kitchen it will burn, the bread knows your not watching and will retaliate.

The 350 for 20 minutes isn’t a firm direction either. I will usually throw the bread in for the last 15-20 minutes of whatever I’m cooking for dinner. Never really seems to make a difference so don’t drive yourself insane making it precise.

I also find the basting brush extremely redundant and time-consuming. This might have something to do with the fact that I melted my basting brush on a cast iron Panini pan while making Mediterranean Quesadillas and never replaced it. Who in the world would make these things out of plastic!?! I poke the bread with a fork a couple times and spoon the mixture it. It works.

It’s not just for pasta night, it’s for every night.

3 Responses

  1. Loved this blog! You honestly could do stand up comedy while cooking…a new show on the food network maybe?! I will be making this on the weekend for the superbowl!

  2. I didn’t know the story about you and garlic. You could do a cooking/comedy show! Very entertaining!

  3. Aunt Neen, You will love it, its so goood

    Mom, it was horrible, obviously I did alright covering up my mortification/pain!

Leave a Reply

