• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Pop Eyes

Or eggs in a basket…bird’s nest eggs…egg hole. Whatever you want to call it is fine by me, I call it delish.

They were a staple of my childhood and I don’t know which of my parents to credit for this amazingness but whichever one it was I love you more. Just kidding simmer. Regardless of your constant nagging over my inability to dial a phone I still love you both dearly.  

As a child these were a treat, a break from the normal eggs and bacon post church breakfasts. Then somewhere between the ages of 13 and 14 I decided I hated eggs. Like actually just woke up and wouldn’t touch them again. Remember, I have food OCD and I’m weird so this happens more often than normal. It was even so bothersome that watching other people eat eggs was painful, yelch I can still remember.

Anyway, I haven’t touched a pop eye since. I’ve also just remembered their buttery goodness and I’m wondering what was wrong with me that made me give up eggs, specifically pop eyes. 

Since my darling is away I’m now having them for dinner for the first time in over 10 years and I am so ridiculously stoked!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 slice favorite bread
  • 1 egg
  • butter
  • salt & pepper

DIRECTIONS;

  • Butter both sides of your bread and use a small cup to cut out a circle in the center
  • Heat a non-stick skillet on medium heat
  • Place bread in skillet and crack egg into the hole in the bread and don’t touch it for at least 30 seconds
  • Sprinkle w/ salt and pepper allowing the egg to cook for about a minute longer
  • Flip and cook the other side

You can tell if you egg is done if when you touch the yolk it’s still soft but does not jiggle. Jiggley yolks mean uncooked whites and that my dears is why I stopped eating eggs, just don’t go there.

Its egg and toast all in one! Don’t forget to throw your circle cut out into the pan to get golden brown deliciousness.

4 Responses

  1. I’m sooooo making this for the boys.

  2. Rachel; these were my idea…
    just kidding; wish I could take credit; we love them at my house too!

  3. A friend of mine told me about pop-eye eggs and i brought the idea home and cooked them one sunday after church

  4. Ahh mystery solved 😉

Leave a Reply

