• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Pan Fried Rib Eye w/ Whiskey Cream Sauce

I Flambéd!!! I think that’s the past tense for flambé! Anyway, I did it, in my tiny kitchen and still have my eyebrows. I’d say it was a flaming success.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Rib Eye Steaks
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 C Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 C Good Whiskey

DIRECTIONS:

  • Melt the butter in a your pan until bubbly. Salt and Pepper the steaks and add them to the butter
  • Sear on each side for about 2 minutes (for just between rare and medium rare)
  • Slowly pour the whiskey over the steaks. Flambé.
  • Once the flames are out remove the steaks to a serving plate and slowly add the cream and some additional pepper
  • Bring sauce to a boil, constantly whisking.
  • Pour sauce over steaks.

This meal literally took 10 minutes and was rich and creamy and very good. Use the same amount of sauce for up to 4 steaks.

My butcher didn’t have rib eye so I used Delmonico steaks, a steak is a steak in my mind.

For the flambé it was touch and go in the beginning. I couldn’t find (read: didn’t feel like looking for) the Aim-A-Flame and I certainly wasn’t going to light the kitchen on fire with a small cigarette lighter; so I lit a long wooden skewer on fire and held that to the pan. I say held it to the pan but really I didn’t even make it to the stove before the alcohol lit up. If my microwave was animated it would have hopped up and walked out screaming that it had been abused enough. The flames were nothing to mess with and could almost reach the cabinets above the microwave.

I stared in awe for about 30 seconds (thinking about my talking walking microwave) before the “oh shit” feeling set in and I grabbed the handle to hold the pan over the sink until it died out. It took less than a minute. The Man stayed far away last night when I told him my plans, only once asking if the fire extinguisher was close by.

Do NOT do this in a non-stick pan. I don’t know the particulars but I do know that the non-stick coating will probably not react well.

Anyway, I’m glad that I didn’t shy away from this because of the flambé, it wasn’t as traumatic as it could have been. I learned that I will always use the long skewer because it allows me to stay far away from the fire and to light it over the sink. OH and don’t blow on it, it doesn’t work like a candle!

One Response

  1. I love you so much you crack me up:):)

Leave a Reply

