• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Monkey Bread

It’s like heaven on a plate!

I’m not a fan of desserts. In fact you will see very little dessert recipes here because I’d rather make a salty appetizer than a sugary confection. Money Bread could be a major exception it’s gooey and doughy and sugary and buttery and just down right.

It’s super easy to make and is a great replacement for sticky buns at breakfast or brunch.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 c Granulated Sugar
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Cans GRANDS Homestyle buttermilk Biscuits
  • 1/2 c Chopped Walnuts
  • 1/2 c raisins (or not)
  • 1 c Firmly Packed Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 c Butter (melted)

DIRECTIONS

  • Heat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease 12-cup fluted tube pan with shortening or cooking spray. In a large storage plastic food bag, mix granulated sugar and cinnamon.
  • Separate dough into 16 biscuits; cut each into quarters. Shake in bag to coat. Arrange in pan, adding walnuts and raisins among the biscuit pieces.
  • In small bowl, mix brown sugar and butter; pour over biscuit pieces
  • Bake 28 to 32 minutes or until golden brown and no longer doughy in center. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Turn upside down to serving plate; pull apart to serve. Serve warm.

I ditched the nuts and the raisins because raisins are pretty nasty little things and the store didn’t have the nuts already chopped. HEY! My Pampered Chef Food Chopper was in the dishwasher! Pure laziness.

I also ditched the 12 c fluted tube pan also known as a bundt pan. BAD IDEA! I instead used a 8×8 non stick pan. I’m unsure of what possessed me to use such a small pan when the recipe clearly states a 12c pan should be used. A tube pan has high sides and is pretty for making the ring of Monkey Bread. I didn’t think twice about anything other than the look of the final product until I opened the oven and was immediately choked by the plumb of smoke wafting through the house.

I quickly jumped into action because having the stupid alarm go off and the police showing up for the 4th false alarm would have been death by shame for me. I opened all the windows, turned the vent on, propped the front door open and stood at the top of the steps waving a dish towel to waft the smoke away from the alarm. Of course all the while screaming for the dogs to get away from the front door. Successfully making myself look and feel quite ridiculous. It’s a good thing these things only happen when I’m home alone.

Morel of the story is to use a bigger pan with high sides, biscuits inflate and sugar over flows and smokes heavily when burnt. Will I go purchase the Bed Bath and Beyonds Monkey Bread Kit for a whopping $19.99? Hellz no, this dessert only cost me $5.00 because I got the biscuits on sale. Will I spend the $12.00 at Target to get the fluted tube pan? Hmm probably not. I don’t make bundt or jello mould and doubt I will make Monkey Bread more than once or twice a year. I just now know to improvise with a deeper dish!

Leave a Reply

