• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Roasted Potatoes, Carrots, Parsnips and Brussel Sprouts

We love veggies and if they are roasted they are even better. I made these veggies to go along with the Apple Butter Brisket. All in all they were well liked by everyone.

If you have never had parsnips, they are shaped like carrots and white. Parsnips have a bit of a sweet, earthy flavor. I say earthy for lack of a better word and the first thing that popped into my head was dirt, but the don’t taste like dirt. They are surprisingly good and should be tried before written off.

Ewww Brussels sprouts right, that mini cabbage looking thing that Grandma was always trying to force down your throat. Give them a try!!! I tried them for the first time about 6 years ago and fell head over heels and would cook them every night if my husband wouldn’t ban me from the kitchen.

I’m including the recommended amounts and slice sized but I didn’t follow either. I didn’t use that many Brussels sprouts or parsnips because I knew a lot of people may not like, so I put enough for everyone to at least try and used extra potatoes and carrots as staples.

Ingredients:

  • 3 med. Carrots, skin removed, cut in 1.5 inch circles.
  • 1 1/2 cup Brussels Sprouts, halved (I removed the loose leaves as well)
  • 4 cups Red Bliss Potatoes (about 1 lb) 1.5 inch slices
  • 3 med. Parsnips (about 1lb) 1.5 inch circles
  • 1 cup Sweet Potatoes (about 1 lb) 1.5 inch slices
  • 1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbls. Dried Oregano
  • 1 Tlbs. Dried Rosemary
  • 1 tsp. Dried Thyme
  • 1 tsp. Dried Basil
  • 1/4 cup Sea Salt
  • 2 Tbls. Black Pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Toss all ingredients in a large bowl
  • Spread evenly on large baking sheet
  • Place in the middle of the oven for 35-40 minutes

I didn’t cut the veggies as big or as thick as they suggest, in doing this they were done in 30 minutes. I also didn’t measure the herbs I just shook some in the bowl, if you do this though be sure not to add too much, herbs can be very over powering.

I used 2 baking sheets because I didn’t have one quite so large. I put on on top of the other in the oven. At the 15 minute mark I stirred the veggies and rotated the pans for even cooking.

Leave a Reply

