• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Monster Cookies

I just realized I hadn’t put this recipe up. I apologize!

These cookies will forever and always be my favorite. Everyone who tries them asks for the recipe or thinks I’m a goddess 😉

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 12-ounce jar creamy peanut butter
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup multi-colored chocolate candies (aka M&Ms)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup raisins, optional
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 4 1/2 cups quick-cooking oatmeal (One Minute Quaker works well)

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Give cookie sheets a quick PAM spray
  • In a very large mixing bowl, combine the eggs and sugars. Mix well.
  • Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter, and butter. Mix well.
  • Stir in the chocolate candies, chocolate chips, raisins, if using, baking soda, and oatmeal.
  • Drop by tablespoons 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.
  • Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Do not over bake. Let stand for about 3 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool. When cool, store in large resealable plastic bags.

I have a relatively newer oven and don’t ever bake for more than 8 minutes. I also do not use air bake pans for cookies, never! I use sheet pans or Pampered Chef Stoneware, always give both a quick spray of PAM.

A double batch of these cookies is too big for the 5qt Artisan Stand Mixer, don’t even bother to try it, you’ll be picking up oats for a month, I know this.

I don’t use the raisins because raisins are pretty gross. I also used chunky peanut butter for the last batch and no one noticed, they had a bit more texture but were still chewy and delish.

They don’t melt down or flatten so your left with a thick, chewy, sweet cookie. They do break easily until they are allowed to cool down.

I don’t have wire racks for cooling so I spread brown paper bags on my dining room table to spread the hot cookies on. I like this because the bags absorb some of the grease that peanut butter gives off.

Leave a Reply

