• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Mediterranean Quesadilla

This is one of our favorites that we found in a Pampered Chef cookbook. It comes from a “Cooking for Two” recipe book but I make I make it with a pound of chicken breast. It’s more expensive to buy individual chicken breast so I buy in 1LB packs. It usually makes 2 extra quesadillas.

I would never make this recipe if I didn’t have the Pampered Chef Chopper (a.k.a. the best slap chop). There is way too much chopping involved to stand there and do it all my hand, I don’t have that patience at the end of the day. Check the PC Food Chopper out HERE It’s an absolute must have and I probably use it 3 to 4 times per week. It’s also dishwasher safe and can be taken apart for thorough cleaning.

Antipasto Relish
1/2 cup jarred roasted red peppers, drained
1/4 cup pitted kalamata olives
1/4 cup pepperoncini
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil
1 tbsp Basil oil or olive oil
1 garlic clove, pressed

Quesadillas
1 cup shredded cooked chicken (6 oz)
1 cup shredded Provolone cheese
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil
4 6 inch flour tortillasPreperation:

1. For antipasto relish, chop red peppers, olives, pepperoncini and chop all basil and set aside 1 tbsp for quesadillas. Combine red peppers,olives and pepperoncini in a small bowl. Add basil, oil, and pressed garlic; mix well and set aside.

2. For quesadilla, cook the chicken in a non stick skillet until it is no longer pink, shred chicken. Combine chicken, cheese and remaining basil in a bowl. Divide chicken mixture amoung tortillas; spread antipasto on each tortilla; fold in half

3. To finish quesadillas, lightly brush non stick skillet w/ oil heat each side 2-3 min until golden brown and cheese is melted. You can do them all at one time if you use a griddle.

4. We top with sour cream.

Couple notes about this recipe:

  1. Use dry basil because it doesn’t call for enough to justify what you have to purchase and I won’t use the rest within the week
  2. Use regular oil because I don’t use enough basil oil to justify buying a whole bottle
  3. I LOVE garlic, I no longer use more than one clove in the relish because it is raw and over powering
  4. Because I use a pound of chicken I usually use a few extra peppers, olives and cheese to get the right amount in each tortilla
  5. They can be very hard to flip w/ the loose ingredients I do not recommend doing on a outdoor grill or grill pan.

 

Leave a Reply

