• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Fried Shrimp Po’Boys

Every few months I get in the mood for a Po’Boy. Nothing else will suffice and until I have my delicious sandwich all food will taste like sand. HAHA! Not really but you get the idea on how important this craving is to satisfy.

We are making every effort to save some dimes and I was not willing to drive to the neighboring town to have a freakin sandwich. SOOO I created my own.

Please note that if you are watching your carbs or calories this recipe is not for you. While I will never cook anything that requires 2 quarts of oil for deep frying, it’s still fried and on a loaf of bread. I don’t fry simply because I don’t have one of those nifty Fry Daddy’s that grandma used to have and the clean up from frying on the stove top is beyond my capabilities after work.

I was mightily impressed with the way this turned out and my hubs was in 7th Heaven over it.

Ingredients:

  • Popcorn Shrimp – Like I said I don’t fry, I picked up a box of Gordons Popcorn Shrimp
  • 1 1/4 cup Mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 Tbls Creole Seasoning – Zantarans or Old Bay works
  • 1 Tbls Capers w/ juice
  • 1 Lemon (juice)
  • 1 Clove Garlic (Pressed)
  • 2 loafs French Bread (hoagie rolls will work too the french bread loafs were ginormous and 1 was too much for 1 person)
  • 1 Green Onion (chopped fine)

Directions

  • Sprinkle frozen shrimp with Creole seasoning (adds a bit more flavor)
  • Cook according to box
  • While shrimp is cooking whisk all the other ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate
  • When the shrimp is done, spread the sauce on the bread and pile w/ shrimp
  • Add Lettuce and Tomato if you wish

Cooks Note:

  • The sauce is called a REMOULADE
  • I used extra creole seasoning because it tasted to Mayo-ey for me
  • Mix the sauce w/ half the lemon juice and taste it, if it seems to need a bit more of something add the other half. A particularly juicy lemon will make it quite tangy and who wants to eat dinner with a puckered mouth!
Leave a Reply

