• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • wordpress visitor counter

Beef Stroganoff

The hubs has been mentioning his Grandmas beef tips and noodles. Eh I don’t know what that is and I wasn’t calling to find out. From what I recall of the meal its Beef Stroganoff with a different name.

Its a quick recipe, that may take a bit longer the first time but once you get the hang of it, it’s quite tasty. Makes for great leftovers.

Hub said to keep it to make once a month, then after eating the leftovers said once a week would be good too. I’d say he liked it!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 tablespoons all purpose flour, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound beef sirloin steak, cut across the grain, diagonally in 1/4-inch-wide strips
  • 5 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1 cup mushrooms thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 can (10 1/2 oz) condensed beef consomme or broth (I like the added richness of consomme)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons sherry or cognac
  • 3 cups hot cooked egg noodles
  • Paprika and parsley, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

  • Combine 1 tablespoon flour and the salt. Dredge the meat in the flour mixture. Heat a large skillet, then add 2 tablespoons butter. When melted, add the sirloin strips and brown quickly on all sides.
  • Add the mushrooms, onion and garlic, and cook for 3-4 minutes or until the onion is barely tender.
  • Remove the meat and mushrooms from the skillet. Add 3 tablespoons butter to the pan drippings. When melted, blend in 3 tablespoons flour and cook for 1 minute.
  • Stir in the tomato paste and cook for another 1 to 2 minutes.
  • Slowly pour in the consomme. Cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens.
  • Return the meat and mushrooms to the skillet and simmer until meat is heated through, about 2 minutes.
  • Combine sour cream with a little of the hot broth (this tempers the sour cream and helps to prevent curdling), then stir in the sour cream mixture and sherry. Stir briefly.
  • Heat through but do not let boil, just simmer for a few minutes before serving.
    Serve over hot buttered noodles.
  • Garnish with paprika and parsley, if desired.
  • Makes 4-5 servings.

WHAT I DID DIFFERENT

  • I have no idea if I cut across the grain of meat or not. A sirloin is an oval shaped steak I cut it short end to short end and cubed instead of stripped. Often there is a line of fat on one side, I cut most of it off.
  • Used one whole small white onion, I never save half an onion it will just go bad
  • Used a whole container of pre-sliced mushrooms. They are maybe $.10 more than the whole and you don’t have to clean or slice, which is a waste of time
  • Used 3 cloves of garlic, what can I say we like it!
  • Used beef broth, next time I will try to find the consomme for more flavor
  • It says to use 10 oz of broth, good luck finding a can more than 6 and less than 14. I used the whole 14 oz can and it was still thick like gravy. I have better things to do then measure broth and I’m not saving 4 oz of it.
  • Didn’t use sherry, I’m not buying cooking alcohol, we don’t use it enough. Instead I used a few dashes of Worcestershire, it was good and I have no idea why I chose this.
  • No paprika, no parsley
  • Whole bag of egg noodles, I’m not measuring noodles, I’ve got better things to do and I’m all for stretching a recipe a bit.

I also don’t have time to measure out and separate 4 Tbls of flour and 5 Tbls of butter. Read your recipes through and decide how to proceed. I put my can of flour out and took as I needed. I also took 5 tbls of butter and cut to the size I needed (2 and 3).

It is muy importante to cook the flour after adding to the butter, sprinkle don’t dump to avoid lumps. Whisk CONSTANTLY. Flour can go from carmelly good brown to burnt in the time it takes you to tell your dogs to get the F out of the kitchen.

Tomato paste packs a big punch in flavor and keeps forever. I buy the smallest can and keep what I don’t use in a small Tupperware cup in the crisper. Well, not quite forever but what I used last night I’ve had for over a month. Always check before you use!!

I kept the egg noodles and sauce separate so we could each determine how much to use. I also kept the left overs separate.

Leave a Reply

