• My Love and I

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • wordpress visitor counter

Apple Dumplin’s

I could and should be talking about that stupid slow cooker corned beef. I’m choosing to ignore it for the time being because I don’t even know where to begin. I will always be one up on the rutabaga because I will never use one again.

To make up for my very tasty but PITA corned beef I treated myself and the in-laws with apple dumplin’s. Another Pioneer Woman favorite. I swear, I’m going to leave her alone! I just had to try these.

I’m not talking church bazaar apple dumplings with a whole apple, dry crust and almost no cinnamon-ey gooey goodness. There is nothing dry about these dumplings.

The best part is there are only 8 ingredients and 10 minutes to prepare (40 to bake).

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Granny Smith Apples, peeled and cored
  • 2 cans Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
  • 2 Sticks Butter
  • 1 1/2 cup White Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 can Mt. Dew (yes, for real)
  • Cinnamon & Nutmeg

DIRECTIONS

  • Pre-heat oven to 350
  • Cut the apples in haf and cut each half into 4 wedges.
  • Wrap each wedge in a crescent roll
  • Place all 16 wrapped wedges in a buttered 9×13 pan
  • In a small saucepan, melt the 2 sticks of butter.
  • Dump in all of the sugar and mix just to combine
  • Add vanilla and mix just to combine, you want it lumpy and gooey
  • Pour butter mixture over wedges. The butter and sugar will separate in the pot causing most of the butter to come out first. Evenly distribute the butter over the wedges and then the sugar, don’t try to get them to combine.
  • Pour the can of Mt. Dew around the edges of the pan
  • Top with as much cinnamon as you want and a couple dashes of nutmeg.
  • Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

OHHHH MY! I ate 5 of them yesterday. 3 of them after I realized I had to go fat clothes shopping prior to our family vaca at the end of March. No self-control. The Man responded with “I know”, I’m not sure how I should take that! I don’t think I will ponder that one to hard. DUDE, I’m jiggle because I love. And I love a lot!

I’m supposed to have 5 servings of fruit and I had 5 pieces of apple! Right? Anyone? It’s all about denial!

Warm or room temp they are good. Always pair them with vanilla ice cream!

LESSON:

Turn the stove burner off when your done melting and pouring your butter/sugar mixture. Don’t be me and leave the burner on low with no pot on it for 40 minutes, then take your dumplins out to cool and place the pan on lit burner to walk away for 20 minutes while the deliciousness “cools”. Thank goodness it was on low, we only lost 2 dumplins to crispy bottoms. This is the second time I’ve done this, both with a baked good. The first time was much worse. You’d think I would have learned. I wish I knew where my brain was at that moment.

2 Responses

  1. The in-laws would agree they were quite delicious! Thenks for bringing them too!

  2. snowstorm tonight and tom…bring it on; I will be eating apple dumplins!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

